Birthday Card Tuesday

Its Tuesday! That means its time for this weekes birthday card showcase.

This week I have done a collection of cards which are all based of another card that I made while testing out the Positively Chevron background stamp. I absolutely love the chevron stamp as it can work as a backdrop for any type of card or gift bag/box.

Here is the initial card I created.

Happy Birthday

To make the card I cut a piece of A4 Whisper White in half lengthways. I then cut a piece of Calypso Coral to 3 7/8 by 5 9/16 and stuck that the card base. Next I took the chevron stamp and inked it with Calypso Coral ink and stamped on a piece of whisper white. I then cut this piece down to 3″ 3/4 by 5 5/16 and then stuck that on top of the coloured card.

To finish it off I punched out a piece of calypso coral using a 2″ Circle punch and printed the HB sentiment from the Balloon Bash stamp set on a piece of whisper white using Basic Gray ink  and stuck them together then mounted it on the card using dimensionals. The Happy birthday sentiment at the bottom of the card is actually part of the HB sentiment and I kept it after I cut it away from the original stamped image. This was also mounted on to the card using dimensionals.

For the colour variation of this card I was just going to copy the layering and stamps used but I recently got the Tag Talk stamp set and matching Bracket Label Punch and wanted to try them out on a project and I thought this would be one to use it on as I didn’t fancy having to cut the HB for the sentiment over and over just to match the original card design. The colour that I have used are are all from the brights collection (except Calypso Coral and Basic Gray) they are Real Red, Tempting Turquoise, Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight, Old Olive and Rich Razzleberry (not sure on that combo).

SAMSUNG CSC

Not the best photo I know but I am little pressed for a work space at the moment (hopefully that will change soon).

As you can see here I played around with the placement of the sentiment and colour combinations to create different effects. All of the extra strips of paper used on the design variations are actually off cuts from trimming the paper down to size. I try not to let any paper go to waist and some of the designs were a result of me try to get some use out of these little strips. The flowers were from the flower punch in the Itty Bitty Accents punch and I added a bright candy dot to each.

My favorite card is the Tempting Turquoise and Real Red one, Which ones yours? Do you have a favorite colour combination that I could try next? Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Card Tuesday

Leave a comment