Can I make it?

So after reviving the 3d projects that I have made so far I realized for a lot of them I turn to more experienced crafters/ demonstrators videos to help with the instructions and this got me thinking why not actually use my 3d post to  highlight that demonstrator and the technique as well as having ago my self. I usually mention the demonstrator who’s video I have linked but I never actually talk about the video or the demonstrator them selves. So that’s what I am going to do each week find a video from a crafter / demonstrator, make the 3d project along side them then talk about why I picked their video and why you should too. There are a lot of excellent crafters out and I look forward to learning from them all.

So to kick of this weeks can I make it I have turned to my upline Hannah Wilks. The project she demonstrates in her video is a beautiful hexagon bag that is tied closed with a ribbon. I love Han’s videos they are so easy to follow and she always provides the paper measurements in her video and on her blog and there are in metric and imperial so you can follow alone no matter what measuring system you like to use.

The thing I love most about Han’s bag is that’s its simple and easy to make and you can decorate it anyway you want. I know you can probably do that with most people’s bag designs but the way Han has presented it I don’t feel like I am pressured into buying stuff for the sake of one project.

As in keeping with Hans original design I made one without any embellishments or tags just the paper and ribbon.

For mine I have used some of that lovely envelope paper. I had to really careful when scoring and folding as its a little thinner than our normal DSP. As I don’t have a hand held hole punch I ended up using the little star from the Itty Bitty punch pack to make the holes for the ribbon to thread through, it worked out OK but they’re a little bigger than I would have liked. The ribbon I have used is the 1″ Dotted Lace Trim that comes in 5 new in colors for this year. I would have liked to have used a thicker ribbon but they are currently in the post but this one does give it a delicate touch.

Thanks for stopping by, come back again soon.

Leave a Reply

