Birthday Card Tuesday

Hi everyone welcome to this weeks birthday card Tuesday.

Did everyone have a good Easter weekend? I know I did. On Good Friday I had some of the towns best fish and chips delivered to me by my sisters. It was raining and they stood in a very long queue for a very long time for which I am very grateful as the fish was delicious and still hot when it arrived(I offered to go with them but I live out of the way from where they were headed so they went without me).

On sunday we had a divine sunday dinner which my mother cooked, the lamb was the best it just melted in your mouth and the gravy had a little red wine in it. I got to see my nieces who I haven’t seen in a while the eldest who is 10 is now the same height as me, not that I am that tall to begin with 4 foot 9 inches to be precise.

The inspiration for this weeks card came about while I was flicking through the Spring/Summer catalog trying to decide what I should get next ( I just recently received my last order and I already want more stuff) and I came across a card on page 32. I looked at and thought I could make that, so thats what I did.

Here is the original.

Make your own custom greetings and embellishments with the new Simply Pressed Alphanumeric Mold.  Add color to your clay for endless possibilities.

And here is mine.

SAMSUNG CSC

To create the card I started with half a sheet of A4 whisper white and folded that in half. I then layered a diagonal lined mask over the card and sponged coastal cabana ink on the lines so it filled 3/4 of the card. Using the same ink I then stamped some stars from the perpetual birthday calendar over the lines. Next I cut 2 strips of card, coastal cabana and crushed curry to the width of the card and layered them so only a little of the crushed curry showed.

For the sentiment I inked it costal cabana and stamped onto the layered card stock of the same colour. To finish the card off I punched out some crushed curry stars using the star punch from the itty bitty punch pack and stuck them on using dimensionals.Finally I tied some white baker’s twine in the middle of the two different coloured card below the sentiment.

I really enjoy trying to recreate some of the projects displayed in the catalog. I find it a challenge trying to figure out what products they have used and how they have used them. I also try to make them my own especially if I don’t have all the required materials like the clay letters they have used on the original version of this card.

Thanks for stopping by come back soon.

Leave a Reply

